Picasso - Rodin

- Diaporama

Picasso - Rodin

2 artists, 2 museums, 1 landmark exhibition

The Musée Rodin and the Musée National Picasso-Paris are joining forces for the first time to present the “Picasso-Rodin” landmark exhibition

Late opening

From July 22nd to August 28th, 2021, exceptional late openings on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays until 9:30 pm. Opening of the sculpture garden and the "Picasso-Rodin" exhibition. Café-restaurant l'Augustine open in the garden.

This unprecedented partnership between two major single-artist museums casts a new light on two creative geniuses who paved the way for modernity in art. Their masterpieces are presented simultaneously in the two historic buildings that house these national museums.

The exhibition proposes a new comparative view of the works of Rodin (1840-1917) and Picasso (1881-1973), who each had a profound and lasting impact on the art of their time and that of the generations to come. The exhibition does not aim to show what Picasso borrowed from Rodin, but rather to explore how elements of Rodin’s oeuvre merged with periods in Picasso’s artistic career.

This comparative view of the two great artists takes a different form at each venue:  the Musée Rodin looks at the crisis of representation in the early 20th century, while the Musée Picasso focuses on their creative processes. At different times and in different contexts, Rodin and Picasso both experienced major historical upheavals that could provide a clue to their similarities.

Each in his own way, they invented a new form of representation – expressionist in Rodin’s case and cubist in Picasso’s. They both preferred to work in their studios, experimenting with forms and materials and developing innovative approaches involving serial projects, fragmentation, assemblage and détournement. Both artists were constantly evolving in their exploration of the ever-changing world around them.

This two-part exhibition, featuring over 500 works, paintings, sculptures, ceramics, drawings, archival documents and photographs, offers a new take on the intensely creative careers of two pioneering artists.

- Diaporama

    At the heart of the "Picasso-Rodin" exhibition

    Interview with the curators of the "Picasso-Rodin" exhibition Véronique Mattiussi, head of the research department and scientific director of the historical collection at the Musée Rodin, and Virginie Perdrisot-Cassan, heritage curator, responsible for Giacometti sculptures, ceramics and furniture at the Musée national Picasso-Paris. What is the relationship between the two artists and creation? Have they ever met? And what are their common concerns? These are the questions that the two curators answer in a cross-reading of the works of Rodin (1840-1917) and Picasso (1881-1973).

    Exhibition Curators

    Catherine Chevillot, Chief Curator, Director of the Musée Rodin

    Véronique Mattiussi, Head of Research, Historical Archive Manager, Musée Rodin

    Virginie Perdrisot-Cassan, Curator of Sculpture, Ceramics and Giacometti Furniture, Musée National Picasso-Paris

    Exhibition Design

    Nathalie Crinière Agency : Anne Lebas, Aude Weinich

    Book my ticket onlineBuy tickets for this activity

    Exhibition locations

    Musée Rodin
    77, rue de Varenne, 75007, Paris

    Musée Picasso
    5, rue de Thorigny, 75003, Paris

    Dates

    Through January 2, 2022

    Horaires

    The Rodin Museum is open every day except Monday.
    From 10 am to 6:30 pm

    Tarif

    Full price Musée Rodin Paris: 13€.
    Combined ticket Musée Rodin - Musée National Picasso national: 20€

    Accessibilité

    • Mobilité réduite
    • Déficients mentaux

    Informations complémentaires

    Group Tours

    Are you a group of ten or more? Book your group tour.

    Ressources

    • Dossier pédagogique(pdf, 4769.7 ko)
    • Press Release (French)(pdf, 3239.9 ko)

    Press Contact

    Agence Heymann Associés, Sarah Heymann

    International — Bettina Bauerfeind,
    bettina@heymann-associes.com
    M. +33 (0)6 31 80 14 97
    T. +33 (0)1 40 26 77 57

    Social Networks

    #PicassoRodin

    Catalogue Picasso-Rodin

    Order in the store

    Le Baiser, miniature

    Order in the store

Picasso - Rodin

- Diaporama

Picasso - Rodin

2 artistes, 2 musées, 1 expo-événement

Pour la première fois, le musée Rodin et le musée national Picasso-Paris s’unissent afin de présenter l’exposition-événement « Picasso-Rodin ».

Masterclasses

À l’occasion de l'exposition, le musée Rodin inaugure son premier cycle de masterclasses. Corinne Rondeau, maître de conférences en esthétique et sciences de l’art à l’université de Nîmes et critique d’art sur France Culture, reçoit un invité dans le jardin du musée Rodin – écrivain, artiste, universitaire ou critique d’art – qui, chacun à sa manière, nous éclaire sur le trajet des deux artistes et leur processus créatif. 17, 24 juin et 10 septembre 2021.

En savoir plus

Ce partenariat exceptionnel entre deux grands musées monographiques offre un regard inédit sur ces artistes de génie qui ont ouvert la voie à la modernité dans l’art. Leurs chefs-d’œuvre sont présentés simultanément au sein des deux monuments historiques qui abritent ces musées nationaux.

L’exposition invite à une relecture croisée des œuvres de Rodin (1840-1917) et Picasso (1881-1973), ces deux grands artistes ayant durablement bouleversé les pratiques artistiques de leur temps pour les générations à venir. Il ne s’agit pas de montrer ce que Picasso a emprunté à Rodin, mais plutôt d’examiner les convergences signifiantes qui apparaissent entre l’œuvre de Rodin et plusieurs périodes de la production de Picasso.

Cette relecture croisée de leurs œuvres se décline en différents chapitres sur les deux lieux, au musée Rodin d’une part à travers la crise de la représentation du début du 20e siècle, et au musée Picasso d’autre part dans les processus créatifs mis en œuvre par les deux artistes. À des époques et dans des contextes différents, Rodin et Picasso participent à une articulation décisive de l’histoire et sans doute est-ce là une des clés de leurs similitudes.

À leur façon, ils inventent un nouveau mode de représentation, expressionniste chez Rodin, cubiste chez Picasso. Pour Rodin, comme pour Picasso, l’atelier est un espace privilégié d’expérimentation sur les formes et les matériaux. Travail en série, fragmentation, assemblage, détournement sont autant d’approches singulières et novatrices. Le travail de l’artiste en perpétuel mouvement, explore un motif en constante métamorphose.

À travers un dialogue systématique, cette exposition riche de plus de 500 œuvres, peintures, sculptures, céramiques, dessins, documents d’archives, photographies invite le visiteur à une relecture inédite de leur parcours artistique foisonnant et innovant.

- Diaporama

    Au cœur de l’exposition « Picasso-Rodin »

    Rencontre avec les commissaires de l'exposition « Picasso-Rodin » Véronique Mattiussi, cheffe du service de la recherche et responsable scientifique du fonds historique au Musée Rodin et Virginie Perdrisot-Cassan, conservateur du patrimoine, responsable des sculptures, des céramiques et du mobilier Giacometti au Musée national Picasso-Paris. Quel rapport les deux artistes entretiennent-ils avec la création ? Se sont-ils déjà rencontrés ? Et quelles sont leurs préoccupations communes ? Autant de questions auxquelles répondent les deux commissaires dans une relecture croisée des œuvres de Rodin (1840-1917) et Picasso (1881-1973).

    Commissariat

    Catherine Chevillot, conservateur général du patrimoine, directrice du musée Rodin

    Véronique Mattiussi, cheffe du service de la recherche et responsable scientifique du fonds historique, musée Rodin

    Virginie Perdrisot-Cassan, conservateur du patrimoine, responsable des sculptures, des céramiques et du mobilier Giacometti, musée national Picasso-Paris

    Scénographie

    Agence Nathalie Crinière : Anne Lebas, Aude Weinich

    Autour de l'exposition

    Réserver mon billet en ligneAchetez des billets pour cette activité

    Lieu(x) d’exposition(s)

    Musée Rodin
    77, rue de Varenne, 75007, Paris

    Musée Picasso
    5, rue de Thorigny, 75003, Paris

    Dates

    Jusqu'au 2 janvier 2022

    Horaires

    Le musée Rodin est ouvert tous les jours sauf le lundi.
    De 10 h à 18 h 30

    Tarif

    Tarif plein musée Rodin Paris : 12 €
    Billet jumelé musée Rodin - musée national Picasso : 21 €

    Accessibilité

    • Mobilité réduite
    • Déficients mentaux

    Informations complémentaires

    Ressources

    • Dossier de presse(pdf, 3239.9 ko)


    Contacts de presse

    Agence Heymann Associés, Sarah Heymann
    Presse nationale — Laëtitia Bernigaud,
    laetitia@heymann-associes.com
    M. +33 (0)6 31 80 18 70
    T. +33 (0)1 40 26 77 57

    Presse internationale — Bettina Bauerfeind,
    bettina@heymann-associes.com
    M. +33 (0)6 31 80 14 97
    T. +33 (0)1 40 26 77 57

    Réseaux sociaux

    #PicassoRodin

    Catalogue Picasso-Rodin

    Commander sur la boutique

    Le Baiser, miniature

    Commander sur la boutique