Auguste Rodin - Displacements

The Musée Rodin - Paris reopens on May 19th, 2021

- Diaporama

Auguste Rodin - Displacements

Extramural

Thanks to the museum’s founder, Carl Jacobsen (1842-1914), Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek possesses a unique collection of works by Auguste Rodin. Jacobsen amassed a huge collection of ancient artefacts and French art, in which Rodin’s works had pride of place.

The exhibition, Auguste Rodin – Displacements sheds light on Rodin’s own collection of antiquities, presented alongside his own sculptures.

This will be the first-ever exhibition in Denmark to present Auguste Rodin’s own collection of antiquities in dialogue with the artist’s own works. The encounter between Rodin’s sculptures and his collection of ancient artefacts will provide visitors with new insight into the artist’s creative process.

From antiquity to modernity

Many people regard Auguste Rodin (1840-1917) as the harbinger of modern sculpture – the man who unshackled the art form from its conventions and traditions. While it is up for debate whether he is the only artist to deserve this title, this reputation has persisted, and his highly expressive, intensely dramatic works served as a source of inspiration well into the 20th century. However, in order to truly understand Rodin, we need to take into account his relationship with antiquity.

What fascinated Rodin about antiquity was not merely the canonised masterpieces, but also the shattered fragments and broken objects. Rodin started collecting ancient artefacts in his fifties. By the time of his death, he had accumulated more than 6500 objects: Greco-Roman statues, pottery from China, Egyptian vases, and Japanese masks. They assumed a predominant position in Rodin’s home and studio: not only as a source of inspiration, but also as part of his own self representation.

Displacements

Auguste Rodin – Displacements provides an insight into how Rodin incorporated his collection of antiquities into his working process. Despite its size, the collection, as part of Rodin’s life and practice, has been disregarded, leaving us with a couple of questions. Why did Rodin collect, and what role did the collection play?

For the artist, the collection provided a unique space where he could experiment with the displacement of works and objects in a variety of ways, thereby shedding new light on them. Hence, his collection of antiquities became crucial to Rodin’s sculptural experiments, which featured fragmentations, transformations and stagings.

Staging

The exhibition presents both a selection of works from the Glyptotek’s own Rodin collection and works and objects loaned from the Musée Rodin in Paris. The set designers Anja Kragh Vang and Mia Steensgaard have created a sensuous setting, in which all the works are displayed. This setting reflects Rodin’s own theatrical way of exhibiting works, while interacting with the architecture of the museum’s historic rooms.

Auguste Rodin – Displacements is the first time that Rodin’s collection of ancient works and archaeological objects are featured in a major, research-based, special exhibition, which sheds light on the collection on the basis of an exchange between art history, archaeology and museology. The exhibition is the result of an innovative research project at Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek and Aarhus University, conducted by the curator/PhD student, Christine Horwitz Tommerup.

The exhibition is a collaboration with the Musée Rodin in Paris and generously supported by the Augustinus Fonden and Aage og Johanne Louis-Hansens Fond. The research project is funded by the New Carlsberg Foundation.

Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek

Exhibition locations

Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek, Danemark

Dates

From 25 March to 15 August, 2021

Tarif

Free to 115 DKK

Catalogue Picasso-Rodin

Auguste Rodin - Displacements

Vue de l'oeuvre

- Diaporama

Auguste Rodin - Displacements

Hors-les-murs

Grâce au fondateur du musée, Carl Jacobsen (1842-1914), le Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek possède une collection unique d'œuvres d'Auguste Rodin. Jacobsen a amassé une énorme collection d'objets anciens et d'art français, dans laquelle les œuvres de Rodin avaient une place de choix.

L'exposition Auguste Rodin - Displacements met en lumière la collection d'antiquités de Rodin, présentée aux côtés de ses propres sculptures.

Ce sera la toute première exposition au Danemark à présenter la collection d'antiquités d'Auguste Rodin en dialogue avec les œuvres de l'artiste. La rencontre entre les sculptures de Rodin et sa collection d'objets anciens offrira aux visiteurs un nouvel aperçu du processus créatif de l'artiste.

De l'antiquité à la modernité

Nombreux sont ceux qui considèrent Auguste Rodin (1840-1917) comme le précurseur de la sculpture moderne, l'homme qui a libéré cette forme d'art de ses conventions et traditions. Bien que l'on puisse débattre de la question de savoir s'il est le seul artiste à mériter ce titre, cette réputation a perduré, et ses œuvres hautement expressives et intensément dramatiques ont été une source d'inspiration jusqu'au XXe siècle. Toutefois, pour bien comprendre Rodin, nous devons tenir compte de sa relation avec l'Antiquité.

Ce qui fascine Rodin dans l'Antiquité, ce ne sont pas seulement les chefs-d'œuvre canonisés, mais aussi les fragments et les objets brisés. Rodin a commencé à collectionner des objets antiques à partir de la cinquantaine. Au moment de sa mort, il avait accumulé plus de 6 500 objets : statues gréco-romaines, poteries de Chine, vases égyptiens et masques japonais. Ils occupent une place prépondérante dans la maison et l'atelier de Rodin, non seulement en tant que source d'inspiration, mais aussi en tant qu'éléments de sa propre représentation.

Displacements

Auguste Rodin - Displacements donne un aperçu de la manière dont Rodin intégrait sa collection d'antiquités dans son processus de travail. Malgré son importance, la collection, en tant qu'élément de la vie et de la pratique de Rodin, a été négligée, ce qui nous laisse avec quelques questions. Pourquoi Rodin a-t-il collectionné, et quel rôle la collection a-t-elle joué ?

Pour l'artiste, la collection constituait un espace unique où il pouvait expérimenter le déplacement d'œuvres et d'objets de diverses manières, leur apportant ainsi un éclairage nouveau. Sa collection d'antiquités est donc devenue un élément essentiel des expériences sculpturales de Rodin, qui se caractérisent par des fragmentations, des transformations et des mises en scène.

Mise en scène

L'exposition présente à la fois une sélection d'œuvres de la collection Rodin du Glyptotek et des œuvres et objets prêtés par le Musée Rodin de Paris. Les scénographes Anja Kragh Vang et Mia Steensgaard ont créé un décor sensuel, dans lequel toutes les œuvres sont exposées. Ce décor reflète la manière théâtrale dont Rodin exposait ses œuvres, tout en interagissant avec l'architecture des salles historiques du musée.

Auguste Rodin - Displacements est la première fois que la collection d'œuvres anciennes et d'objets archéologiques de Rodin fait l'objet d'une grande exposition spéciale, fondée sur la recherche, qui met en lumière la collection sur la base d'un échange entre l'histoire de l'art, l'archéologie et la muséologie. L'exposition est le résultat d'un projet de recherche innovant au Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek et à l'Université d'Aarhus, mené par la conservatrice/étudiante en doctorat, Christine Horwitz Tommerup.

L'exposition est une collaboration avec le musée Rodin à Paris et est généreusement soutenue par l'Augustinus Fonden et l'Aage og Johanne Louis-Hansens Fond. Le projet de recherche est financé par la New Carlsberg Foundation.

Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek

Lieu(x) d’exposition(s)

Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek, Danemark

Date(s)

Du 25 mars au 15 août 2021

Tarif(s)

Gratuit à 115 DKK

Catalogue Picasso-Rodin

Commander sur la boutique