Jacques-Ernest Bulloz (1852 -1942)
General View of the Studio in Meudon
H. 27.5 cm ; W. 37 cm
To coincide with the 1900 Exposition Universelle, Rodin organized an independent exhibition of his works in the Pavillon de l’Alma, a temporary venue halfway between a gallery and a studio. On view inside were a large number of sculptures, mostly plasters, often studies or fragments, as well as photographs and drawings. Funded by the bankers Dorizon, Albert Kahn and Joanny Peytel, the Pavillon de l’Alma was built by Alexandre Marcel and Louis Sortais.
The sculptor had given a great deal of thought to its architecture and lighting. Although he would have liked to leave it standing on the Parisian site, it was taken down when the exhibition closed and rebuilt in his garden at Meudon, in 1901. It retained its gallery-cum-studio function and housed the works that Rodin showed people who came to see him in Meudon.
The photographer Jacques-Ernest Bulloz took this shot from above, perched on the steps of the studio staircase. He used a wide-angle lens to garner a maximum of information in one image. This panoramic view provides an idea of what visitors to this fascinating place in Rodin’s day must have found : a forest of white plaster statues, bathed in dazzling light.