Discover the musée Rodin Meudon
Dimanche 1er avril 2012
Works in plaster exhibited at the Musée Rodin Meudon
The musée Rodin Meudon reopens from 1 April 2012.
Discover the Villa des Brillants, the studio-museum, the ever-charming artist’s residence.
Situated on the heights of Meudon, the estate overlooks the Seine and comprises two buildings. The Villa des Brillants is a modest-looking, Louis XIII-style house in brick and stone, which Auguste Rodin purchased at an auction sale on 19 December 1895. In the course of its renovation in 1997, the sculptor’s living and work environment was reconstructed from period photographs.
The museum below, inaugurated in 1948, houses numerous plasters, including casts for Rodin’s monumental works in their successive stages: from The Gates of Hell to The Burghers of Calais group, plus several studies and figures for Balzac or the monuments to Victor Hugo, Puvis de Chavannes and Whistler, installed on a central platform. Prior to being cast in bronze or carved in marble, these models, studies or variants provide insight into the first phase of Rodin’s creative process.
During the sculptor’s lifetime, the estate offered an environment conducive to the development of his career. In 1900, about 50 people, including sculptor’s assistants, workers and casters, were employed by Rodin here. Although he continued to go to his Parisian studios every day, especially the one at the Dépôt des Marbres, his most essential creative work was done in Meudon. The poet Rainer Maria Rilke, whom he had asked to be his private secretary, lived on the premises from 1905.
“The effect of this vast hall filled with light, where all these dazzling white sculptures seem to gaze out at you from behind high glass doors, like creatures in an aquarium, is extremely powerful. It makes a huge, a tremendous impression…” (letter from Rilke to his wife Clara, 2 September 1902).
His Meudon estate soon became an inevitable port of call for an endless stream of friends, sitters, patrons and celebrities from France and abroad.
Nowadays, visitors discover the atmosphere of both a studio and an artist’s residence in the late 19th and early 20th century. In the garden, the statue of The Thinker watches over the tomb of Rodin and Rose Beuret, lady of the house and the sculptor’s lifelong companion.
Villa des Brillants | 19, avenue Auguste Rodin | 92190 Meudon | Tel. +33 (0)1 41 14 35 00
RER line C: to Meudon Val Fleury, then bus no. 169 (get off at Paul Bert)
Metro line 12: to Mairie d’Issy, then bus no. 190 (get off at Hôpital Percy)
Museum opening times
Friday, Saturday and Sunday afternoons, 1pm-6pm
Ticket office closes at 5.15pm
Admission: 4 euros
Free admission for under-18s and EU citizens aged 18-25